What I’m Into: August 2016

August. proper noun. The finale to summer (sniff, sniff).

blackeyed susans.jpg

Read on for all of the things I’ve loved in August – and all of my good excuses for why this post is a week overdue. Better late than never, I suppose?

Reading

Book of A Thousand Days – Shannon Hale. When a princess is imprisoned for refusing to marry her father’s choice, her lady’s maid keeps a journal of their captivity and escape. There were many things to enjoy in this tale – Dashti is a plucky narrator, there’s a hint of sweet romance, and the mystical, Arabian-esque setting reminded me of A Horse and His Boy in the best way.

Redwall – Brian Jacques. I know so many people who loved this series. If I really enjoyed fantasy, I might have been one of them. This summer has been teaching me how much I enjoy character-driven novels, and Redwall just isn’t that. It was really hard for me to get into, but I would still absolutely recommend it as a read-aloud for kids who love adventure stories, or as a more approachable book for readers who might love The Lord of the Rings in a few years.

Cinder – Marissa Meyer. Based on the cover, this did not appear to be my kind of book at all. However, all the recommendations I’ve heard were right – it was excellent. Cinder, a talented mechanic, is a cyborg (a human with some robotic limbs and a computer chip that interacts with her brain). As the country where she lives struggles under threats from other nations and a plague, the prince asks her to fix his android (think R2-D2). My only complaint was that this ended on one of those irritating YA cliffhangers so that you have to read the entire rest of the series to know if things actually work out. This is my pet peeve. I probably will read them all anyway.

Brown Girl Dreaming – Jacqueline Woodson. Woodson tenderly tells the story of her childhood through poetry. I absolutely want to use this as a mentor text for teaching poetry writing – she highlights small snapshots of memory with beautiful language and detail, and her honesty about issues of race would be poignant for class discussions.

The Truth According to Us – Annie Barrows. What a delightful, delightful book. Layla Beck is cut off from her father’s funding and moves to a small town to research its history, where she lives with the Romeyn family. The family was once upstanding in the community, but as Layla and Willa Romeyn, a curious 12- year old, discover, the truth of family and town history is not always as it appears. This summer, I have learned that a historical setting + a clever narrator + some non-gory mystery + a smidge of romance = my kind of book. This has everything.

The Nesting Place – Myquillin Smith. Myquillin, or The Nester as she’s known in blogland, is the queen of realistic yet beautiful ideas about decorating. This book was a kind guide as I moved in to my apartment (and possibly drove my roommate nuts by spontaneously rearranging picture frames).

Alone Together – Sherry Turkle. This book examines the intersection of human relationships and technology. I spent most of my reading efforts in the section about how social media and texting changes relationships. Basically, we are all hoping for relationships on our terms, with no mess (and no real connection). Reading this with my middle schoolers in mind is rather terrifying. Maybe we should all become Amish. Well, Amish people who read blogs.

Falling Free – Shannan Martin. PSA: This book comes out on September 22, and you ought to read it. I’m not just saying that because I’m on the launch team – I’m saying that because it’s a rousing wake-up call for those of us who sit safely in middle-class complacency. Shannan tells how she was saved from the comfy life she’d dreamed of and found herself on the wrong side of the tracks learning to love people who didn’t seem to deserve it. This is not an easy read, but I’ve been thinking about it a lot and seeing just how important conversations like these are for a church called to be the hands and feet of Jesus to all.

A Prayer Journal – Flannery O’Connor. In college, my American Lit professor used this as a devotion to start class. I wanted to revisit it for myself, and I was loving Flannery’s honesty and strikingly real descriptions of what it means to have faith…until I had to return it to the library. Whomp. This might be worth buying my own copy.

Currently reading: Criss Cross – Lynne Rae Perkins.

 

Watching

Sherlock – This show is way too intense for me to watch on my own. Even with moral support, I have to knit to keep my blood pressure stable-ish. BUT. This show is so well-crafted and intriguing. Plus, it teaches me how great my friends are. Case in point: my friend Janae offered to watch an episode at the same time I did and warned me via text every time someone was going to die, and my sister doesn’t get mad when I send late-night texts about the probable murderer in my apartment.

Fixer Upper – How I love this show. I may or may not have cried at one reveal.

White Collar – This is the best kind of crime show – no blood or gore, sharp dialogue, and an incredibly attractive main character. Thank goodness for roommates with good Netflix recommendations.

Ghostbusters – I like Melissa McCarthy, but honestly, this remake was not worth the two hours it took to watch it.

The Man Who Knew Infinity – This movie was being filmed at Cambridge around the time the boyfriend was spending a summer there, so I was already predisposed to like it. Beyond that, it is a remarkable movie. It tells the story of Ramanujin, an Indian mathematician studying at Cambridge around WWII whose intuition helped him make fantastic mathematical discoveries. The ending is a bit abrupt (as was the end of Ramanujin’s life), but I left with a new appreciation for how math is an integral part of our world, even though we don’t understand it all.

 

 Listening

Clemency – Heaven in the World We Know. I discovered this band through Spotify Discover Weekly playlists. Before this month, I had no idea that Spotify puts together a playlist of new music tailored to my tastes each week. What treasures I’ve been missing! “When I’m With You the Fireworks Go Off” is another favorite.

 

Jess Glynne – You Can Find Me.

 

The Chainsmokers – Closer. I don’t understand why I like this song so much, and I feel sort of bad it’s by a band called The Chainsmokers…but it’s been stuck in my head all month.

 

 

 

 

Loving

Grove Collaborative – This company is almost too good to be true. They give you great deals on natural cleaning and beauty products, and if you have good timing, you can get great freebies for signing up! (I scored The Nesting Place AND 2 different Caldrea products – for free – with my first purchase.) The Sea Salt Neroli dish soap makes me almost enjoy doing dishes. Disclaimer: I am not paid to say anything about this company, but if you use this link, I earn extra credit.

This article on evangelicals in this political climate puts words to my feelings about this nutty election cycle.

Natori bras. Maybe this is TMI, but I’m willing to risk it because the world needs to know. Ladies: Go to Nordstrom. You’re probably wearing the wrong bra size (I was), so get a fitting. Then buy this or this, because they are both awesome. They’re even on sale at this second!

All the tears from this video. Sometimes I love middle schoolers.

 

I have an emotional allergy to small talk, but this post reminds me how it can be significant.

Working air conditioning in my car! I endured most of the summer without AC. Finally, at the end of July, I decided had endured one too many sweaty 90 degree day and got it fixed. It so was worth it.

Lemon San Pellegrino. It’s basically expensive sparkling lemonade, but it’s delightful.

No longer being in a long distance relationship…because the boyfriend moved back! We’ve been dating for two years and he’s lived in Washington, DC for a year and a half of that time. He returned to MN less than two weeks ago, and I’m still over the moon that I haven’t had to do a teary airport drop-off.

 

Doing

 

Lots of driving! I went home twice in August. The first time, we saw a friend who’s been living in Switzerland and is now getting MARRIED(!!!) and had lots of low-key time. The second time, we had a family stay-cation involving a detour to the Duluth Tall Ships festival, my youngest brother’s senior pictures (he’s so old!), a drive-in movie, and a bonfire with friends.

DSC_0205.JPG

 

DSC_0299.jpg

A day trip to Lake Pepin. It was such fun to explore a charming part of the state with an equally charming boy.

 

Sister dates to an outdoor production of Seussical the Musical, the Weisman Art Museum, Ikea, and the Mall of America. I lucked out in the good sister department.

 

Fun friend dates to shop for rugs, celebrate passing certification tests, and reconnect after trips abroad. My friends are so adult!

 

Wrapping up the semi-employed summer life. There was tutoring, going to yoga classes, babysitting for two cutie-pie kids, and volunteering for English classes. I also went with a group that offers field trips for non-native English speakers to the Stone Arch Bridge, the Guthrie, and two volunteers’ gorgeous house on Lake Minnetonka.

Ending the summer at the Great Minnesota Get-Together.

-1.jpg

 

 

Getting ready for school! This is the first time I’ve started the first day of school on my own, and the amount of work it takes to ready a classroom, prep for an open house, and plan for just the first week while attending teacher workshops is no joke! We’re jumping in with both feet now, and so far there are only good things to report.

 

 

 

What have you been into in August?

 

 

 

Leave a comment