Goals (Summer 2016)

Goals. noun. The object of a person’s ambition or effort; an aim or desired result.

snapshots.jpg

I have never been so desperate for summer. It has always been my favorite season, but I am in dire need of rest and release right now. My plans for next Tuesday, when I am finally done with all school responsibilities, are not ambitious. They look like binge-reading and not setting an alarm. But I know that sweet summer will pass oh so quickly, and I am determined to make the most of it, in terms of both rest and adventure. Hence, the return of the goals.

Behold, my summer bucket list:

Visit the Weisman Art Museum.

Attend an outdoor yoga class, because it was one of my favorite discoveries last year.

Relive my childhood and watch Finding Dory in theaters.

I have never been camping (beyond a tent in the backyard) before. My sister and I are going to change that and go camping somewhere beautiful.

I tried (and failed) last year, but I want to make another valiant attempt to slalom.

Go to a concert or movie in a park.

Read a collection of poems. I’m deciding between Mary Oliver’s New and Selected Poems and Wendell Barry’s This Day: Collected and New Sabbath Poems, but I’m open to other suggestions!

Eat at Betty Danger’s, because they have a ferris wheel and that’s cool.

Find a summer TV show. Rules: it must be something I haven’t watched before and be worthy of binge-watching. Current options: Parenthood? Friday Night Lights? North & South? Something a brilliant reader will suggest?

I want to keep learning this summer and watch an interesting documentary.

Go kayaking or paddleboarding with the ladies from my small group.

Read a lot. Especially outside. Topping the list is Orthodoxy by G.K. Chesterton (which I joined a book group to discuss), The Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens, Cinder by Marissa Meyer, and Night Driving by Addie Zierman.

 Make a new summer recipe. Hit me with your best recommendations.

 

Anything I’ve missed? What are your goals for the summer?

4 thoughts on “Goals (Summer 2016)

  1. North and South (if you’re talking about the BBC mini series based on the Elizabeth Gaskell novel) is excellent. Richard Armitage is amazing. It won’t take you all summer, though (which might be a bonus).

    • That is the one I was looking at, so that’s great to know! I haven’t read the book yet…but maybe watching the mini-series will inspire me to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

