Goals (March 2016)

Goals. noun. The object of a person’s ambition or effort; an aim or desired result.

goals pic

Another month down! I’m continuing to track my goals for each month as a way to actually accomplish those little things that I’m always meaning to do.

Here’s how things went in February:

  1. Organize all of my teaching resources – almost! All of the paper ones are organized, and I reorganized my Pinterest boards so they’re more functional. But I still have 2 years of computer files to sift through.
  2. Finish online art class – I didn’t finish, exactly, but I made enough progress that I’m checking this off. It was a fun mother-daughter activity.
  3. Hand-letter 2 quotes – I drew 3 quotes, scanned them, printed my 2 favorites on engineer prints from Staples, and hung them in my classroom over dollar store tablecloths. Cheapest decorations ever.
  4. Go ice skating – I went with the boyfriend when he visited MN, and it was fun! I still stink at it – but there was definite improvement by the end of the afternoon.
  5. Not buy any clothes that are not from a consignment/thrift store – Bah. I did SO WELL until the 27th (!!!), when my siblings invited me to stop by Marshalls with them on the way to grab supper and my sister threw something at me in the dressing room and I tried it on and it was perfect and then I failed. I WAS SO CLOSE. Dang. Until that fateful day, I spent all of $6 on clothes this month ($2 clearance sweater and $4 Plato’s Closet leggings). I didn’t even give in to 40% off LOFT sales. This was almost a success.

 

The list for March:

  1. Keep track of my finances – While student teaching, my financial goal was simple: spend as little money as possible. But now I actually have a job! And a paycheck! Unfortunately, I stink at keeping track of exactly how much I’m spending and where it’s going. Now seems like an opportune time to improve my skills. I’m currently scoping out the best budgeting apps to see if that helps.
  2. Be intentional about going outside – I have an entire Minnesota winter’s worth of Vitamin D deficiency to make up for. Specifically, I want to get outside for a walk or run once a week.
  3. Try a community ed class – the city I live in offers community ed workout classes that I’ve been meaning to try for months. My workout mojo has died a bitter death recently, so trying a new class (Zumba? Pilates? Lap swimming?) might help.
  4. Clean out my closet and sell/donate rejects – this winter more than ever, I’ve seen the truth of the statistic that women wear 20% of their closets 80% of the time. I feel like I’m finally figuring out what works well in my teacher wardrobe, and I want to get rid of the things I’ve been holding on to since 10th grade (not exaggerating) that aren’t serving me well anymore.
  5. Try hand lettering tutorials – This is one easy way to keep myself creating, which makes me a much happier person. And hey, free tutorials are cool.

 

What are you hoping to accomplish this month? Head to the link-up at Writes Like a Girl to check out other bloggers’ goals.

Leave a Reply

