Thankful

Thankful. adjective. Expressing gratitude or appreciation. A series now appearing on Thursdays in November.

“November is the most disagreeable month in the whole year,” says Meg in the novel Little Women. And unlike her sister Jo, I don’t revel in its contrariness. The glorious leaves are gone, it’s beginning to be dark all the dang time, and Christmas is still far, far away. I’m about to lose my mojo (not that I had tons of it in the first place), so I need a plan. Here it is.

Introducing… Thankful Thursdays.

I am nothing if not alliterative. And brilliantly original. (Thankfulness? In November? Mind. Blown.)

There’s this theory, which I bought from multitudes of other, smarter, authors, that little good things shape our lives as much as big good things. These are small mercies from God, part of the grace portioned out for us daily. They deserve to be named, celebrated, recognized as holy.

When life gets dull and dark, it’s easy for me to forget the discipline of naming and thanking and rejoicing. So here’s the deal. On Thursdays until Thanksgiving, I’m going to celebrate the small things that make this dreary month a little brighter.

This week’s all-stars:

  • Yoga videos on YouTube. What happens when tall people live in an elementary world? Tight shoulders from hunching over tiny tables, and tight hips (not the sexy kind) from sitting on tiny chairs. I’m trying Yoga with Adriene to help stretch out the knots.
  • Dark chocolate peanut butter cups from Trader Joe’s. I don’t go to Trader Joe’s often, but when I do, I always buy these. They make me swoon.
  • Unseasonably warm days. I wore a dress without tights in November in Minnesota. TWICE. The anniversaries of these days shall be marked on the calendars and celebrated for all eternity.
  • Tazo Awake English Breakfast tea. The perfect (or maybe just passable) recipe: Toss a splash of milk, a dash of sugar, and a tea bag in a travel mug before running out the door. Drive to school. Add hot water from the teacher’s lounge upon arrival. Let steep. Forget that tea is steeping, and remove the tea bag after just a little too long. Drink. Makes one serving that should keep you awake through the morning.
  • Small children who tell me “Miss C, you look beautiful today.” Though let’s be honest, when multiple kiddos tell me that they like my outfit in one day, I can never tell if I should be nervous. It’s understandable when I’m wearing a jack-o-lantern shirt for Halloween. But otherwise, what makes a winning outfit for kindergarteners and 2nd graders? This is a mystery.
  • Dry shampoo. It enables me to shower every other day and still appear presentable (I think). My hair is happier, and more importantly, I get 15 extra minutes of sleep. Booyah.
  • Fun evening plans, even on weeknights. It’s easy for me to slip into the school-home-sleep, school-home-sleep pattern, which can be a bit isolating. This week, my soul has been filled by a fun Skype date with the boyfriend and an evening of baking with a sweet friend. What gifts they are to me.

 

What are you thankful for this week?

Leave a Reply

