November

November. proper noun. According to Google, the eleventh month of the year, often considered the last month of autumn. Also the code word for the letter N. Originates from Latin, in which it means nine.

Now presenting What I Learned in November. This is part of a link-up with Emily Freeman at Chatting at the Sky – head to her blog to see what other people are learning.

Image via Pinterest

Image via Pinterest

 

1. This listΒ just reminded me how introverted I am.

2. The Anne of Green Gables movie is so dang precious. How have I, a lifelong kindred spirit to Anne-with-an-e, missed out on such delight?

3. Holy moly, I nerd out over books. And reading. And English in general. Exhibit A: I got incredibly excited and actually enjoyed my homework when I had to find five picture books that I could use to teach big kids. Exhibit B: I found a blogger who reads a picture book every Monday to his big kids to get them to enjoy reading and to think about something other than texting. Genius. I will totally do this. Exhibit C: Recently, my roommate showed me a badly written sentence in her philosophy book, and I immediately began mentally treeing (which is like diagramming) it to see how it went so wrong. During this conversation, I also uttered the phrase, β€œThat dude needed a better editor.” Exhibit D: I actually believe the statistic in #6. Exhibit E: The fact that I would totally call the author of this awesome note.

4. There is a gene that determines whether you will be a night owl or an early bird. My most productive hours are between 9:00 and 10:30 p.m. I rarely fall asleep before midnight. I make angry faces when I wake up. Guess what I am? However, this is not, as I had previously believed, due to laziness or lacking ambition. This is something I can’t help! I can stay up late and hate mornings without guilt!

5. Catching Fire is an awesome movie. This, I expected. I enjoyed watching it in theaters. This, I did not expect. I am not good at watching intense movies. When I was little, I used to watch the scary parts of Aladdin from behind the recliner in my grandma and grandpa’s living room, claiming I was in the Cave of Wonders. I still pace in the living room when my family watches anything action-y. However, Catching Fire was worth all of the anxiety it caused. Some high points: the movie is incredibly well-done (and this is coming from the girl who is passionately champions that books are better than movies), the existence of Josh Hutcherson and whoever plays Finnick Odair and has those gorgeous dimples, and Lydia from the Pride and Prejudice movie plays Joanna Mason and she rocks it. I am also developing excellent coping mechanisms for intensity. Though there wasn’t a Cave of Wonders in the theater, I only had to pace in the aisle once. I also read the book so I could anticipate the terrifying moments, took strategic bathroom breaks, and hid behind my jacket whenever people started dying. You should go see the movie. Even if you need to pace or hide.

6. This statistic. My personal, highly scientific studies confirm its reliability.

Image via Pinterest

Disclaimer: I have no idea what Read It Forward is, nor have I liked them on Facebook. Your call there. Image via Pinterest

6. I really like teaching middle school. I think the kids are amusing and awkward and awesome. I can also teach grammar to five periods of said kids and survive, though I now understand why my teacher parents need naps after school.

7. Brene Brown is awesome. She researches shame and vulnerability and has amazing insights such as “Vulnerability is the birthplace of innovation, creativity, and change.” (Think about it. She’s so right.) Her message is slowly changing my life. Check out her TED Talks if you have 20 minutes and want your socks rocked off.

You can also check out her blog.

8. Christmas is coming. I love Christmas. You can bet your Christmas cookies that I’ll be doing some holiday-themed writing. The goal is once a week, which may or may not happen due to this little phenomenon called finals. At any rate, come back soon for a little Christmas cheer.

12 thoughts on “November

  1. Words…..Oh how I love them so. The name of my blog reflects my love of them as does yours. Maybe you’re a long lost relative. πŸ™‚ Love, really love your November photo (ah…Scrabble…my other obsession). Beautiful. I’ll be back!

    • Hi Lisa,
      What a great word-loving connection! I also loved your thoughts, especially on writing, in your own November post. Thanks for reading! πŸ™‚

  2. I’m so glad you saw the Anne of Green Gables movie! I teethed watching that movie, and I daresay I love it more than the book. (Blasphemous, I know!) But Megan Follows epitomizes Anne, and it’s become my “comfort movie”. Did you watch the sequel, Anne of Avonlea (aka, Anne of Green Gables: The Sequel), when she teaches at Kingsport? Just as wonderful. But DO NOT watch Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story. It ruins everything, and I pretend it doesn’t exist.

    • I am impressed that your love for the movies exceeds that of the books, because those are some of my favorite books ever. I actually didn’t quite finish the first one (and I didn’t feel that awful because I know that Matthew dies and that would be so traumatic), but I do plan to! I’ll add Anne of Avonlea to the to-watch list, too – thanks for the recommendation!

      • Don’t feel awful–the ending makes me cry every single time! (And I’ve been watching these for 23 years, haha!) I think you’ll enjoy Anne of Avonlea–it deviates from the books more than the first movie does, but it’s still very well done πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

